University at Buffalo Department of History

History Department Graduate Student Listing, by year of entry into the program

For the Graduate History Association (GHA) website, click here

 

 

[2014-2015]

Elisabeth Davis

Concentration: Early Modern Europe

Email:  edavis4@buffalo.edu

 


Ethan Horgan

Concentration: Modern Britain

Email:  ehanhor@buffalo.edu

 

 

Jonathan Lower

Concentration: African American

Email:  jlower@buffalo.edu


Elizabeth Masarik

Concentration: US women

Email:  egmasari@buffalo.edu


Christopher Notaro

Concentration: Modern Germany

Email:  crnotaro@buffalo.edu

 

Shuko Tamao

Concentration: Disability Studies
Email:  shukotam@buffalo.edu

 

 

[2013-2014]

Anh Sy Huy Le (Tommy)

Concentration:  Modern China

Email: anhsyhuy@buffalo.edu


Siyue (Sheryl) Liu

Concentration:  Modern China

Email: siyueliu@buffalo.edu


Andrea Nero

Concentration:  Early US

Email: andreane@buffalo.edu


Justin Masucci

Concentration:  US/Latin America

Email:  jmasucci@buffalo.edu

 

David Strittmatter

Concentration:  Modern Britain and empire

Email: dstrittm@buffalo.edu

 

[2012-2013]

Joshua Schroeder

Email: jrschroe@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Early US

Marissa Rhodes

Email: marissac@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Early Modern Europe

John Marsland

Email: johnmars@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Modern Britain

Katie Smyser

Email: kasmyser@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Modern Britain

Qiong Liu

Email:  qliu22@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Modern China

 

[2011-2012]

Xiangli Ding

Email: xianglid@buffalo.edu

Concentration: China

 

Kathryn Lawton

Email: klawton@buffalo.edu

Concentration: US

 

Amanda Magdalena
Email: abmagdal@buffalo.edu
Concentration: Latin America, sexuality, sport

Dissertation: Beisboleras de Casa: Baseball as Agent of Gender and Racial Identity Construction for Chicana Women, 1920-1960

 

[2010-2011]

Averill Earls
Email: averille@buffalo.edu

Concentration - Britain & Ireland / Modern Europe / Gender & Sexuality

Dissertation: Queering Dublin: Same-Sex Desire and Masculinities in Ireland, 1885-1965

Advisor: Patrick McDevitt

 

Elisabeth George
Email: elisabet@buffalo.edu
Concentration: 20th c. US / LGBT

Dissertation: LGBT Network Formation(s) in the Queen City and Beyond: Articulations of Dis/Identity and Community Mobilization in Southwest Missouri, 1945-2003

Advisor: Susan Cahn

 

 

Sarah Hadley-Cousins
Email: handley2@buffalo.edu

Concentration: 19th c. U.S. / Gender & Disability

Dissertation: “A Physical Wreck of His Former Self”: Gender and Disability in the Post Civil War North

Advisor: Carole Emberton

 

William "Jake" Newsome
Email: wjnewsom@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Germany / Modern Europe / Gender & Sexuality

Dissertation: Remembrances of Things Once Hidden: German and American Memories of Homosexuals in the Holocaust, 1949-2008

Advisor: Andreas Daum

 

Laura Stafford
Email: laurasta@buffalo.edu
Concentration: Italy

 

Alexander Yarbrough
Email: davidyar@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Early Modern Europe / France

Dissertation: Policing Publishing in Enlightenment France: Jean-Omer Joly de Fleury (1715-1810), Magistrate and Censor

Advisor: Jonathan Dewald

 

[2009-2010]

Philip Guingona

Email: phillipg@buffalo.edu

Concentration: East Asia


Michael Durfee

Email: mjdurfee@buffalo.edu
Concentration: 20th c. United States

Advisor: David Herzberg

 

Colin Eager

Email: cdeager@buffalo.edu

Concentration: 19th-20th c.United States

Advisor: David Herzberg

 

Kevin Ryan

Email: kdryan@buffalo.edu
Concentration: 20th c. United States

Advisor: David Herzberg

 

[2008-2009]

Ma Ling

Email: lm65@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Asia

 

Valerie Phillips

Email: vmp7@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Early Modern Europe

 

Violetta Ravagnoli

Email: vr45@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Asia

Advisor: Kristin Stapleton

 

Robert Vanwey

Email: rlvanwey@buffalo.edu

Concentration: Asia

 

[2007-2008]

Jennifer Nickeson

Email: nickeson@buffalo.edu

Dissertation: Transforming Appalachia: Motherhood and Reform in the Mountains, 1900-1940

Advisor:  Susan Cahn


Steve Peraza

Email: speraza@buffalo.edu
Dissertation: Suing the Master: Litigation as Slave Resistance
Advisor: Jason Young

 

William Pritchard

Email: wrp3@buffalo.edu

Dissertation: From Proclamation to Plessy: Conflict, Class, and Community in Post-Emancipation New Orleans.

 

[2006-2007]

Betsy Plumb   

Email: blplumb@buffalo.edu

Concentration: United States

Advisor:  Michael Frisch

 

[2005-2006]

 

Michael Halliday
Email:  mh34@buffalo.edu

Dissertation: Conversation or Counter-Revolution: Verbal Delict, Political Dissent and Legal Culture in Socialist Yugoslavia, 1943-1990

Advisor:  Patrick McDevitt

 

 

 

Leave of Absence

 

University at Buffalo Main Web Site Depart of History Main Web Site